Have you been charged with Reckless Driving? First of all, it’s important to contact a skilled Massachusetts Reckless Driving Attorney. A reckless driving charge in Massachusetts is far more severe than a traffic ticket. Because reckless driving is a criminal offense, it may result in serious consequences for your driving record and personal life. Call the Law Office of John L. Calcagni III for a free consultation. We will help you develop a strategy to limit the damage a reckless driving charge can have on your life.
What Constitutes Reckless Driving in Massachusetts?
Table of Contents
First of all, reckless driving can be almost any driving behavior that endangers others. This includes tailgating, weaving in and out of traffic lanes, cutting other drivers off. Also included are extreme actions like falling asleep at the wheel or driving the wrong way. It may also be possible for a driver charged with DUI to plea bargain down to a reckless driving charge. Most of the time the police officer uses their discretion when issuing a criminal citation for these offenses.
In Massachusetts, there are two separate offenses associated with reckless driving. These offenses are “reckless operation” and “negligent operation”. Each offense carries slightly different penalties. For both offenses, there has to be proof that the driver’s behavior posed a hazard to others. The main difference between these two charges is the mental state of the driver. In order to prove reckless operation, the prosecution has to give clear evidence that the driver knew of the danger of their actions but proceeded anyways. For negligent operation, the prosecution does not need to prove that the driver was aware of the risks posed by his or her actions.
What are the penalties for Reckless Driving in Massachusetts?
A conviction for these offenses can result in jail time ranging from two weeks to two years, and fines ranging from $20 to $200. Negligent operation carries an additional $250 penalty. Drivers convicted of a first offense receive a license suspension of 60 days for a first offense. Also, drivers convicted of a second offense within three years face a minimum suspension of 1 year.
Hire a Massachusetts Reckless Driving Attorney
In conclusion, if you or a loved one has a reckless driving charge, it’s important that you find an attorney with experience. First, get access to a Massachusetts Reckless Driving Attorney. Contact (508) 213-9113 the Law Offices of John L. Calcagni III for a free consultation, and we will help explain how driving laws apply to your case and help you decide the most intelligent course of action.